Seeing more

If a day goes by without my doing something related to photography, it’s as though I’ve neglected something essential to my existence, as though I had forgotten to wake up. -Richard Avedon, 1970

For my photography class I am doing a research project on Richard Avedon. At first I wasn’t at all excited that we had to write an essay and present it to the class. I mean this is a photography class, I want to go out and take pictures and develop them! But now after researching a little bit more I am finding Avedon to be quite interesting, and his photographs are amazing!

Avedon’s career began in the 40’s, when film was the only means of taking a photo. And through his photos I have begun to love b&w and film even more, which I didn’t know was possible! He mostly did portraiture as well as fashion shoots, but he really knew how to catch the essence of who he was photographing. He didn’t conform to the ‘norm’ of photography back then instead he, showed models full of emotion and in action. I really respect him for doing something completely different, especially back then. To me, his photos really show raw emotion from the models. And a lot of them are by no means perfect but thats what I love. They don’t have to be perfect, because if they were the same emotion would not be seen.

The above quote I posted is perhaps one of my favorites now, for I feel the same at times. I’m starting to think about photography more and more and almost always carry a camera with me now, be it film or digital. I suppose I’m addicted now, yes? ;]

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

