Be the Change

This past week was somewhat hectic as I spent Wednesday and Thursday in Vancouver for We Day! I only missed a half day of school but it still got me behind on some things, going to spend tomorrow catching up (Yay…). But honestly, I wouldn’t have missed it for anything! It was so inspirational and all in all just a great experience! It made me realize that I can really do anything as long as I put my mind to it.

18,000 youth and educators gathered together in Rogers Arena.

Craig and Marc Keilberger (founders of Free the Children). They are so inspirational, by far the best speakers of the day!

Mikhail Gorbachev. He contributed to the end of the Cold War, ended the political supremacy of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union (CPSU), and led to the dissolution of the Soviet Union. For these efforts, he was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 199o.

Mia Farrow.

I think(?) This was Down with Webster.

Michel Chikwanine was a former child soldier and took the vow of silence for his speech. It was actually very emotional. I remember last year he came and spoke at my school, his life story is amazing.

SHAQ dancing. So entertaining!

Spencer West. Telling us that you can overcome anything

Hedley performing. Theywere awesome! I literally thought my ears were going to blow the hole stadium screamed so loud!

There were a lot more performers and speakers but I was enjoying myself too much to capture it all. Seriously, reliving this day over and over again, it was so much fun! My group was sitting on the balcony area but I love being up there because you get to see all the other people screaming and dancing! We Day dance was pretty awesome, until afterwords we realized the song would never leave our heads orz.

You can see more pictures here.

I am so happy I joined Me to We at my school because thanks to them I am able to have all these new experiences.

Leave a Reply

