Finding inspiration: Rothko

Mark Rothko is one of my favorite artists of all time. To me, his paintings give out so much emotion and depth, all depending on what colors he used and how vibrant they are.

I had the pleasure of seeing one of his paintings up close and personal at an art museum in San Fransisco a few years ago. I was actually quite ecstatic to be able to see one in person, which now seems rather ridiculous, but I just love his work so much! There was a bench in front of the painting and I remember just sitting in front and staring at it for long minutes. My eldest sister (an artists herself) asked me what emotion I felt from it and really it was just as though it was making you try to remember something. Like your memory had gone cloudy thus you forgot something important. And underneath all that was a deep sadness.

I enjoy art because you can and do feel such emotions as these emitting from them. Often its better then using words themselves. I don’t think I will ever fully be able to describe what emotions I feel from art simply because emotions are too complicated.

“I’m not an abstractionist. I’m not interested in the relationship of color or form or anything else. I’m interested only in expressing basic human emotions: tragedy, ecstasy, doom, and so on.” – Mark Rothko

Leave a Reply

