I am a Friend of East Africa

Through Me to We (a social justice club) I was able to buy these Rafiki bracelets that were made in Africa. This project I believe originally started when the drought hit Africa so that the people in Kenya could raise money for food and water.

The package says: Thank you for being a friend of East Africa. By purchasing the limited edition Rafiki Friend of East Africa chain, handmade by women in Kenya, you are bringing the hope and sustainable change to families in need. Your purchase will feed one child for a month.

As you can see the chain is really simple, but at the same time because of the simplicity it makes it really beautiful. It is an amazing thing to think about how a women in Kenya made this and now it is my hands here in Canada, half way around the world.

I bought one for myself and one for my sister, Kimberly. Now she can’t complain about how I never buy her any gifts kk. Another gift, I think, is just the fact that buying one bracelet can feed one child for a month. It truly doesn’t take much to make a difference in the world, all you have to do is act on it.

Leave a Reply

