Then till now

When I was a kid I cried because I was afraid of the dark.

I cried when my parents wouldn’t let me go to a friends house.

I cried when I tripped and scraped my knee or a family pet passes away.

Now when I cry its when I fight with family or friends,

Its because my grades aren’t good enough,

When I feel I’ve failed myself,

Over regrets and things lost,

from jealousy and betrayal.

When I was a kid everything was so much simpler,

and the things I cried over then seem meaningless,

but perhaps the things I cry over now are just as meaningless,

and are the things getting in the way of just living life.

Leave a Reply

