Degree in a Day

Yesterday I, along with Julie, attended UBC Okanagans Degree in  a Day program.

One of the best parts of the day was definitely the free sushi from Julies parents (Yaaay, thanks again!), but that aside I really learned a lot about UBCO and it made me extremely excited for next September (Assuming I get in of course -crosses fingers-)! Not only that but the day made me less apprehensive about what university will really be like.

Being there for nearly 7hrs made me realize what a great sense of community they have. They have so many clubs to join and volunteer opportunities that I’m sure there will be no problem making friends. Which I think is always somewhat of a worry hehe. Actually I think what I was most interested in learning about was their Go Global program. I definitely want to do an exchange at some point in my university career and this program seems so accessible that I can’t wait to research more on it.

Another great part of the day was the mock lecture we had. Being able to sit in a lecture theatre and talk to a real professor was really interesting and informative on how schooling changes from high school to university. Not only that but the lecture was focused on psychology which was definitely a plus for me as I have my psych AP exam in less than two months!

However, I think my favorite part of the day was just being able to talk to current students and hear about their experiences. They all seemed to really enjoy their time at UBCO and some who were in fourth year said they were actually really sad that it was coming to an end.

I’m really glad that I decided to participate in this days events. And now I’m just super excited! Minus the fact that university is kind of stressful, but we even got tips on how to cope with that stress so I suppose I am semi-prepared for what is to come.

Leave a Reply

