Birth of a Book

 

I found this video a couple of weeks back and absolutely loved it. I am one of those people who absolutely hates ebooks. I will never buy a kindle or download a book on my ipod. Never being well, never. It makes me sad that so many bookstores are now closing because of this new technology. I suppose we’re supposed to embrace this new format of books as in many ways it does make reading easier, but it really just makes me sad.

I love holding a real book in my hands. Turning each page to discover something new. The smell of new books or books that have been left out in the rain. I love collecting books and adding or reorganizing my bookshelf.

For me, ebooks takes away a lot of what I love from a book. And sure, what you should love from books is mainly the story itself, and the themes and meanings behind the book, but it isn’t complete if I can’t hold that story in my hands.

Thats why I love this video so much. It shows the traditional way of making and binding a book. I love the heard work that goes into making a single copy, it makes me feel as though what I am holding is more special in some ways. Its hard to believe that at one point in time, printing books itself was a new technology that people were amazed by. We’ve come along way since then.

But still, I can’t forget the origins of the book.

2 thoughts on “Birth of a Book

  1. It’s a brilliant video! If you love books, you should check out the Slightly Foxed magazine too, which is printed in the same place, along with the beautiful hardbacks you see being made in the video.

Leave a Reply

