Finding Inspiration: Studio Ghibli

Do I even need to explain why I gain so much inspiration from Studio Ghibli? Miyazaki is an animation genius. Nuff said.

Not only is the animation absolutely remarkable, but the stories themselves are heartwarming and full of actually good themes and morals.

I love how studio ghibli really reminds you of what its like to be a child and the imagination that comes with that age of life. The best example of this being My Neighbor Totoro, one of my favorite movies of all time. I have literally cried watching this film, and not because its sad (Because it isn’t) but its just so utterly happy and moving. It really reminds me of my childhood, and in some ways that does make me sad because I am already 18 but at least I had an awesome childhood. And I still believe I am a child in a lot of ways. Never going to grow up and all that, right? I honestly can’t believe that none of my friends like this film. They all say its too childish, but thats the point of this movie.

My other favorite movie of all time (and favorite Studio Ghibli film of all time) is Princess Mononoke. This film really has an environmental moral to it, which I think we need more of. And just the creativity behind the film is amazing. Stacy and I always say how we want red elk to be real (red elk are real but they are actually a type of deer… not the epic red elk we want). I also wish tree spirits were real… but who knows, maybe they are? (A whole lot of wishful thinking is going on right now)

I really can’t put into words how much I love Studio Ghibli films, its better to just go and see and fall in love with them for yourself.

Here is a list of must see Studio Ghibli films:

  • Spirited Away
  • Princess Monoke
  • The Cat Returns
  • Castle in the Sky
  • My Neighbor Totoro
    Howls Moving Castle
    Kiki’s Delivery Service
    Ponyo

 

 

2 thoughts on “Finding Inspiration: Studio Ghibli

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Films #10: Spirited Away

Leave a Reply

