After All of That

Tomorrow is finally my first day of university. After all of the stressing I did over the last two years about where I would go the day has finally come. In some ways, it is the beginning of a new chapter in my life (clicheeeee), and hopefully a good one.

Ever since my two eldest sisters went to university I have always wanted to go. Since grade 6. And then finally the other day i asked myself, why do I want to go to university? Elementary, middle, high school, thats all mandatory schooling. University is optional. You choose to go. And i wondered, why would I want to go through 4 more years of schooling (plus 2 more to get my masters). Why do I want to suffer through assignments and lectures, presentations and exams? Why am I choosing to put myself through all of this when I already did 12 years of it?

And that is when I began to panic.

In some ways I still don’t know why I would choose to go to 4 more years of schooling. But yet, I’ve always wanted a higher education. I want to learn as much as I can about the world and my surroundings. University is just one such way of gaining that higher education. Even through all the torturous assignments and exams, I still love school. It took me awhile to figure it out but I got there.

So really, I am extremely excited for tomorrow! (With a side of extreme nerves, of course)

Leave a Reply

