Seaside Adventures 2014

DSC_0447A couple of weeks ago my family and I went for our annual vacation – this time to the Olympic Peninsula. Its never a proper trip without the ocean getting involved at some point! Oh how I miss the salty air and waves rolling over my feet already. This was actually our second time seeing the peninsula, but it was just as great as the first. Going to places more than once always allows you to gain new perspectives, especially as you grow older. I think that this time I appreciated each place that I visited more so than I did when I first went. The great thing about the Olympic Peninsula is that there are so many different terrains in one area. Snow capped mountains, sandy beaches, tidal pools, forests. It really has everything you want in one place. DSC_0469 DSC_0456 DSC_0507I love love love exploring beaches. It is probably one of my favorite things to do of all time, mostly because you never know what you’re going to find. On one beach we found a dead seal. Not exactly the most exciting thing to discover, especially because the smell was absolutely horrible, but it was still interesting to see. DSC_0462 DSC_0602 DSC_0625A big part of why I like to go on trips is photography. I look at traveling as an opportunity to take more photos and widen my knowledge. I find that each year that I look back my photos have gotten better. The only way to improve is to practice, right? Often however, the stress of having to get the perfect photo ways down on me. I tried this time not to let that get in the way and just enjoy the trip and capture some memories. DSC_0570 DSC_0770 DSC_0777 DSC_0882I almost wish we could go back to spend even just a few more hours soaking everything in. Sometimes instead of rushing around trying to see everything, its better to take your time and appreciate whats there before you. This is something that I need to learn how to do. We went hiking on some beautiful trails in the rain forest as well as in the snow covered mountains. And both times I was just thinking ‘when are you going to get to the end?’ Although, lets be honest. Its hard to concentrate on the beauty around you when you’re climbing a steep hill while extremely out of shape. DSC_0888 DSC_1018To sum the trip up completely one would have to mention sandwiches, Thomas the Train, and bears. I am sure that makes sense to no one but you can’t give all the fun away ;). I can’t wait till next year already.

One thought on “Seaside Adventures 2014

  1. Pingback: Photo Diary | May & June | Blushing Cameras

Leave a Reply

