The Celebration of Light

DSC_0796Last Saturday, Sean and I attended the Celebration of Light in Vancouver. Ever since I had first heard of this fire works display about three or four years ago I have wanted to go. In previous years I had always tried to convince my family to go, but to no avail. My parents didn’t think it was worth it, especially with the large crowds. Thank goodness for Sean. :) I even put it on my bucket list for good measure, which means that this is the first thing that I can cross off of it. Achievement unlocked!

The Celebration of Light is a 3 day event spread out usually around the end of July and beginning of August. It features 3 different countries every year who each put on their own fireworks show. The special thing about this firework show is that it is set to music, it used to be called The Symphony of Light, but I have no idea why they changed it. This year we saw Japans show and it was beyond amazing! This is by far the best display of fireworks I have ever seen and am already hoping that I can come back next year to see it! DSC_0720

DSC_0709We wanted to make sure to get a full days worth of sight seeing done in Vancouver, since it takes a couple of hours to get there by bus and we didn’t want to waste the day. We originally planned to go to the Vancouver Art Gallery only to find out that by the time we got there it would be closing in twenty minutes. This actually made me kind of sad because I have never been. What kind of art history major am I? Other things that we had also planned to possibly do was go to the aquarium and rent bikes in Stanley park, neither of which we did. Pretty much all of our plans fell through. Instead, we wandered around Vancouver trying to escape the heat in each patch of shade we could find.

Even though most of our plans fell through it was still a great day. We ate delicious food and sat in the park over looking English Bay watching the sunset. Sometimes doing nothing is the best thing in the world as long as you’re with good company. :) We decided to simply wait out the heat and impatiently wait for the show to start.

DSC_0734

The amount of people there was absolutely insane! I have never been in such a large crowd before. The next day on the radio we heard that there was more than 315,000 people in attendance. Mind blowing! We were so worried that we wouldn’t be able to catch any buses afterwords due to all the people, thankfully we did though.

DSC_0743 DSC_0787

Fireworks have always amazed me. To see something light up the sky in an explosion of colour and sound is beyond words. Instead of taking a ton of photos like I usually do, I decided to sit back and enjoy the show. In this case, photos will never be as good as the real thing. I am so happy I got to see this amazing display. This one event definitely made my whole summer.

DSC_0757 DSC_0772I can’t believe that I got to cross something off of my bucket list. This definitely made me want to work harder to achieve more of my dreams.

Until next time x

Leave a Reply

