How to Change Your Lifestyle

2Lately, I have been feeling that I need a lifestyle change. I’m sure everyone knows the feeling. The things that you want to get done aren’t, you feel unhealthy, you feel like your life is wasting away, your goals/dreams are lying dormant somewhere, etc, etc.

After much thought on what I felt like needed some moving around in my life I came up with a plan, albeit a very simple one. We all need to start somewhere though, right? I decided to write down my goals/lifestyle changes into a notebook to keep track of them and make sure I follow them closely. However, the key to changing how you live your life isn’t necessarily all about planning. The secret is that you have to take the plunge, just go for it. You have to make the decision, and then take action. You can’t wait till a certain date to start doing it because then it won’t work (I know from experience).

These are my lifestyle changes that I am going to stick to:

  • Get out of bed by 9am every day and go to bed by 12pm
  • Drink at least two bottles of water everyday
  • Put aside two hours of every day for studying/revising
  • Eat healthier (more veggies!)
  • Do some form of exercise at least three days a week
  • Try to get out of the house at least once a day, even if it’s just a walk or trip to the corner store
  • Make time for me

These might seem like small changes to some people, but for me these are major things that I need to work on. You should make changes to whatever you feel comfortable doing or you think you need to work on. And if you feel like your lifestyle is A-ok, good for you! Go get ’em!

I am also going to write down a daily schedule everyday so that I can follow through on everything I want to accomplish that day. This is especially important if you are a procrastinator.

An important thing to realize when you are trying to make a lifestyle change is that there are going to be times when you’re not going to follow through. We’re not perfect. There are always days when we want to be lazy and simply lay in bed all day marathoning our favorite TV show while eating chocolate. And we need to realize that this is ok. You’re allowed to have those days. You shouldn’t look at it as a sign of failure or a setback, because it will make you fell even worse about it than it really is.

I have decided to make lifestyle changes a number of times in my life and of course I am here writing this now because I never stuck to them. The reason that I think I can do it now is because I realized that I need to in order to reach my career and life goals. But more importantly, I want to do it for me. Growing up I cared a lot about what people thought about me, especially my family. I realize now that this was extremely unhealthy and that I suffered a lot from it. You shouldn’t be doing this for anyone else. It might sound selfish, but you are #1 when it comes to your life.

What are some changes that you want to make to lead a healthier lifestyle?

Leave a Reply

