Current Obsessions | Vol. 1

Current Obsessions will be a new (possibly monthly?) series where I ramble on about all the things I am currently loving.

Television

Kitchen Nightmares – If you are into realty shows about food then I am sure you have seen this show by now. Famous for its swearing, Chef Gordan Ramsey goes to various restaurants that are close to shutting their doors and tries to revive them. While I was visiting Sean in maple ridge we began to watch this show obsessively. I think more than being obsessed with the show, we even began to obsess over Gordan Ramsey himself. Honestly, he is hilarious! I would also recommend the British Series over the US one. The US version is too dramatic and put on in my opinion.

Band of Brothers – OMG. I love this show! I think I should have talked about this sooner because the first time I saw it was actually a couple of years ago, but recently I have been watching it again. Band of Brothers was an HBO miniseries that documented a company of paratroopers going through WWII. Its a really good series if you are a history or WWII buff, but even if you’re not I would still recommend it. I think I like it a lot because you really get to know a lot of the characters well and become very attached. Another special thing about the show is that at the beginning of each episode they have the real veterans talking about different aspects of what they experienced in the war. So in case you were wondering, this is based on real people.

Music

I have recently been loving The Guardians of the Galaxy soundtrack. Most of the songs I already knew, but it never hurts to revisit them. This soundtrack really makes you want to dance! I saw the movie twice in theatres and the second time was mainly to listen to all the songs in the movie again. :3

Other than that I have also been listening to Take Me to Church by Hozier, Coldplays new album Ghost Stories, and Soul by Rhodes.

Books

I recently read Daughter of Duchess by Pamela Hicks and really enjoyed it. It made me start thinking about how I should start reading more nonfiction. I always thick I won’t enjoy it when I really do. This particular book is a memoir about Pamela’s childhood in England and India as the daughter of Lord Louis and Edwina Mountbatten. What makes it especially interesting is how many royal ties she has. I didn’t know it was possible to have so many!

Random

I am obsessed with underwater cameras right now! For a long time I have wanted to purchase one of my own but didn’t want to spend the money on it. So instead, I have been staring longingly at others underwater adventures. Then, my boyfriend asked why I didn’t just go buy a disposable one. I feel so stupid for not even thinking of this! We have been having a lot of fun taking photos so far, except none of us want to open our eyes underwater and we didn’t have goggles so I have no idea what any of my shots look like. I am hoping they are ok! I’ll probably be getting the film developed in a couple of weeks so I can share it here. :)

Until next time x

 

Leave a Reply

