Without A Camera

Some days don’t need cameras.

Like the day I was feeling low so Sean and I decided to go for a late night bike ride. Then Sean came up with the brilliant idea to ride to the movie theatre to see Guardians of the Galaxy. The bike ride was tough, forty minutes mostly up hill, but we got there eventually. It was just the thing to cure anyones low spirits. The best part of the night however was sitting in Tim Hortons nursing our drinks as we discussed the film. Then riding to Thrifty Foods, buying a bunch of snacks and sitting outside of a closed Dairy Queen eating till we filled our stomachs. We didn’t get home till 3am, but it was all worth it. Theres nothing like riding a bike in the cool night air. It is so freeing.

Those are the nights worth remembering and I didn’t need a camera to do it.

Or when Sean and I decided to go rafting in the river across from his house. The water was freezing and our rafts unstable but the sun was shining and our hearts full of adventure. We had a few scrape ups along the way. The most memorable being the log that just so happened to go across the whole river. Thinking that I could simply grab on to the log and guide myself to the part where I could go under was a foolish mistake. The raft went under the log whilst I tumbled into the water. Unbeknownst to us then, it was a happy coincidence. We sat on that log in the middle of the river for a long time. We talked of how beautiful the river was with the trees lining its shores offering shade as vines grew up there trunks. We made it to our final destination only to go one more round just for the hell of it. We even found a nice swimming hole with lots of minnows!

That was one of the best days of the summer and I didn’t need a camera to remember it.

Sean once told me that (he thought) the reason I always took pictures of everything was to make me feel as though I am constantly doing something. Constantly creating memories and keeping busy. When I heard this I immediately waved it away as anything but the truth. But, the more I thought about it, the more I came to realize there was some truth to it. I get anxious when I am not doing something. I constantly worry about when I am old and look back at my life, I will regret not doing enough.  I try to create memories with photographs when I should be creating memories by being in the moment. Photographs can come later.

So here I am, learning how to be without a camera.

Leave a Reply

