I Love Art

1One thing that I have slowly begun to notice when it comes to my blog, is that I never talk about art. Even though I am an art history major, and if all goes well, will be spending exorbant amounts of time in museums in the future, I don’t think I have ever once made a post relating to art history. This is something that I have been trying to come to terms with over the past couple of days….

And after much thinking, my answer as to why is: I don’t know.

Over time, this need has started to grow where I feel like I need to talk about art. All the time. Wherever to whoever. I’m not sure why, but I think it may be because I just recently decided that I love art. Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve always loved art. I don’t think I could have made it to third year if I didn’t. But recently, I just sort of said to myself, “hey, I really love art. I love how people can express their feelings and emotions with art. I love how art can broach controversial topics. I love how art is so creative. I simply love art.” However, these are all rather recent discoveries.

And then I asked myself another question…

Why did I choose art history as a major and career choice?

The answer to that once again is, I don’t know. I always tell people that I became interested in art history because my sister would come home from university and tell me all of the things she learned in class that day. One of the most memorable being Bosch’s The Garden of Earthly Delights. But then I started thinking, before I enrolled in art history, I knew absolutely nothing about art. Not enough to warrant my being so interested in art history to major in it. So now I am rather confused and just a little bit thankful. Thankful that I was curious enough about art to choose this path that I am currently very happy with.

After all of this thinking I decided that maybe I will start to share some thoughts on art here soon. :)

P.S. Please excuse these ramblings of an art history major. I just wrote a ten page essay this week on controversial art in Canada so now my brain is going haywire. Time to relax before final exams!

Until next time x

 

 

Leave a Reply

