In The Dark Room: Series

DSC_0649   The final project from my photography class was to make a series. This could be done by telling a story or simply having all of your pictures relate somehow, it was up to you. When my professor first told us that this was our final project I initailly didn’t like the idea. Storytelling has never been my fortay and I think it really showed. I had a very hard time coming up with ideas of what I should photograph so this was a very last minute concept. I saw the bull skull laying on the patio outside (Yes my house is full of an assortment of weird things!) and had a sudden burst of inspiration. For my project I used the bull and horse skull as well as some deer antlers juxtaposed with Kimberly to make a series that focused on the idea of death and life. DSC_0648DSC_0650

I’ll be honest, this theme didn’t come to me initially. It was only after discussing the meaning of my series with my classmates during my critique that it really came to me. I originally just thought that having a bunch of skulls was good enough to have my photos relate and winged it. What a bad photographer I am! I especially liked one theory my professor had. She said that it looked like Kimberly was slowly becoming an animal herself and that this was the story I was telling (because of the order in which I presented my photos). Maybe I will stick with that one.DSC_0651

DSC_0652

In hindsight I do kind of wish that I had created a story, because I think that those types of photographs can be so powerful. Maybe next time though? I did really enjoy taking these photos thought. And some of them (especially the first one) turned out amazing! I wish all of my photos could look like that! Spot on focusing, which is something I actually have a hard time doing, so proud. hah. DSC_0647

One thing that I do have to complain about however, is framing. I love photography but having to frame each photo with matte board is the bane of my existence. So much so, that for this project I exploited Kimberly’s kindness and got her to cut out each sheet for me. The worst part is that I always have a white boarder around each photo when I print and you have to cut this off. Trying not to cut into the photo is the hardest thing in the world, and absolutely heartbreaking when you do! That is why some of the photo’s edges may seem a tad bit wobbly. Next time I do this I know to invest in a good x-acto knife. Ok, rant done!

I have one more ‘In the Dark Room’ post that I am thinking about putting up. It was one of our first projects but I was unhappy with it because I used Ilford HP5 film that made the photos very grainy. Other than that though it wasn’t bad, so maybe.

Until next time x

PS. I now have a bloglovin! <a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/12513745/?claim=qw7ywvumb9p”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

2 thoughts on “In The Dark Room: Series

  1. Super impressed by your darkroom skills. I spent two semesters basically living in the one at my college, and mine never turned out just right, I got better at it, but these show some really great skill, not just in the darkroom but also behind the lens!

    • Thank you! I took photography in grade 12 and pretty much ended up finishing all of my projects the night before. I think thats why I wanted to try a little hard in University haha.
      Thanks for the comment :)

Leave a Reply

